Thoughts

I just don’t know where to begin.  A sweet friend has been diagnosed with cancer.  Not just any cancer, breast cancer, and at age 32 I might add- stage 3.  Suddenly the last few days have seemed to take on new meaning.  My kids aren’t as irritating, delightful even.  My perspective has changed in a huge way and I am somewhat surprised at my reaction.  I mean I’m SAD of course, but it’s more than that.  It’s helpless I suppose.  Helpless to DO anything, and knowing this is one hard thing my friend is going to live through.  Her and her husband, and two daughters. I myself have 3 young kids and can’t imagine the thought of facing the possibility of leaving them.  Even a little bit.  And, yet, it happens in a flash.

I mean, I’ve known people with cancer before, mostly older, save one.  It’s not that those “older” people had any less life to live, but it’s just that they had lived MORE.  Their children were grown, their cars paid off, their homes full of only them and their spouse, and the remnants their kids won’t haul off.  Why does it seem more tragic when the C drops it’s bomb on those with more to DO, or say or feel.  And why do I even think the younger have more to do, or say or feel?  We don’t really know what our lives will hold.

Her attitude, like all cancer fighters I have met, is amazing.  She says “bring it” in it’s face.  She will do anything, I mean, ANYTHING to fight…and to win.

So- here’s to winning.  Many prayers for you friend.  And much support- whatever you need, whenever you need it.  He is, indeed, mighty to save.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment